Glossy Monday Variety

Happy Labor Day Glossy Ones!

PumpsAndGloss.wordpress.com

MONDAY MELODY

For all my working people, in honor of Labor Day, here’s Vanessa Williams performing “Work To Do.”  Check out the music video here.

PumpsAndGloss.wordpress.com

 TEN WAYS TO BE YOUR VERY BEST – by Jeness Ruhanen, from TopTen.org

  1. Practice Extreme Self Care.
  2. Create 10 Delightful Daily Habits.
  3. Get Rid of Stuff You Do Not Need.
  4. Get Rid of Commitments You Do Not Want.
  5. Be Clear on what You want for Your Life.
  6. Get Organized.
  7. Take Care of Your Needs
  8. Elminate Things You are Putting Up With.
  9. Celebrate Your Success.
  10. Laugh Often.

See each item in detail here.

PumpsAndGloss.wordpress.com

DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT – ANIMALISTIC

I received an ad from Newport News showing different outfit combinations in shades of brown.  Called “Touches of Animal,” this collection screams “Fall” to me.

newport-news.com

I know that’s pretty small, so go here to get a better view.

I especially love this leopard print skirt.  Not too long, not too short.  Gotta have it!  This skirt comes in Misses Sizes 2-18 and Women’s Sizes 14W – 24W.

newport-news.com

PumpsAndGloss.wordpress.com

BEDROOM DECOR

I received the Midnight Velvet Fall Catalog recently and saw this fabulous comforter set.

midnightvelvet.com

I love the brown and blue combination.  I can see blue candles to match on my night stands.  Just as I was about to order this, my Mom surprised me with this duvet set from Target for my birthday last week…

target.com

I am a huge fan of butterflies and my Mom’s thoughtfulness certainly touched my heart.  At the same time, I am still longing for the blue and brown.  I would put one in the guest room, but Hubby and I have a tropical theme and neither of the prints coordinate with the room.  I’ll just watch Midnight Velvet to see if they mark it down.  Christmas will be here before we know it – I am going to have to be a good girl for the rest of the year so Santa can bring it to me!

PumpsAndGloss.wordpress.com

JOY’S BOOT PICK

I get e-mails from Dr. Jay’s on a regular basis.  Urban wear for women, men and children, Dr. Jay’s is the site for clothes, shoes, and accessories.  This Timberland Boot was featured in the most recent e-mail I received and it was love at first sight.

drjays.com

Who knew a Timberland boot could be so hot?!  It also comes in light caramel suede and black leather.

PumpsAndGloss.wordpress.com

LIP COLOR

Maybelline SuperStay Lip Color in Violet

walgreens.com

0.077 Ounces of Lip Color and 0.063 Ounces of Moisturizer Sealer

Purchased for $3.48 on Clearance at Target – Regular Price was $6.99 (Picture is from Walgreens.com. where the price is $9.49)

Sticky? – Lip Color = Yes,  Moisturizer = No

Shimmer? – No

Applicator – Brush for Lip Color; “Chapstick” Application for Moisturizer

Buy Other Colors? – Yes

Buy Second Tube? – Yes

Thoughts – I bought this Lip Color doubting that the color would last.  I am now a believer!  I cannot rave about this product enough!  The lip color is applied with a brush -it goes on silky smooth and within two minutes, it becomes dry and sticky.  Apply the moisturizer and your lips are smooth with a touch of shine.  The color lasts for up to 16 hours.  I drank out of cups and there was no color left on the rim!  You will need to apply the moisturizer every now and again for shine.  Maybelline sells a product that will remove the color.  I used baby oil and it came right off.  Overall, I give this product an A.  This product is available as a lip gloss – I will be purchasing it and letting you all know about it!

PumpsAndGloss.wordpress.com

ENCOURAGE YOURSELF

I LOVE this song!  “Encourage Yourself” is by Donald Lawrence and The Tri-City Singers

“Sometimes you have to encourage yourself.
Sometimes you have to speak victory during the test.
And no matter how you feel,
Speak the Word and you will be healed.
Speak over yourself,
Encourage yourself in the Lord.”

“But Remember Giants, they do fall!”

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.  ~ Galatians 6:9

Have a wonderful week!  Be Encouraged!

~ J.R.

5 Responses

  1. That comforter set is HOT! I love the color combination.

  2. I love butterflies. That duvet is so cheery. I love the boots, too. I need a pair of brown boots for fall.

  3. ummm i need that to start my day every day with that song!! i love it! i’m so glad that our gospel station keeps that on rotation, so i never miss it! thanks for featuring it on the blog. i didn’t know who it was by…

  4. I love that comforter set on top. It looks really nice and classy. And the best part about it is that it would match perfectly in my room.

  5. those timberlands are absolutly gorgeous but i cant find them anywhere !! please tell me where i can get some i’m dying to have them !

    xxxx

Leave a Reply

